Masters of Photography

William Eggleston

I chose to Eggleston because I really enjoy photos that look like film, and I also like how his photos have color. I like that his photos are of objects, places, and people so there is a variety in his subjects. His images are also very sharp, and I like the different backgrounds that each image has. Some of his work looks abstract which makes it very intriguing and interesting to look at. It evokes the viewer to think about where the image could have been shot or what the subject even is. His work also features images from a variety of states like Arkansas, Mississippi, ad Tennessee.

Outskirts of Morton, Mississippi, Halloween 1971

The photo above is one of the photos I liked the most by Eggleston. I like the color of the sky and how the image is kind of dim which creates a mysterious kind of vibe. The backgrounds which appears to be a random dirt road also gives a mysterious vibe because you can’t really tell for certain where the subjects are. Their facial expressions seem off or scared even and this also adds to the picture. The woman’s outfit is really colorful and has a unique pattern which I like, it stands out against the dark background.

Memphis

I also really like this image by Eggleston because of the composition. The woman’s blue dress against the bright yellow sidewalk really draws attention to her. I also like how she looks caught of guard since I am a big fan of candid photos. Her hair looks perfect and she just looks very put together and proper. The background is beautiful, and I like how there is a wide depth of field.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back To Top
Skip to toolbar